Edmonds Booktalk: If you like these authors, here are some others to try

122
0

By Elaine Mattson

There has actually been an occasional day of summer. Hooray! So grab a book, and find a spot to relax and read and breathe in these summer days.

Are you reading faster than your favorite author can write? Unless you are reading everything with James Patterson’s name on it (how _does_ he do that?!), you probably are waiting for at least one of “your” authors to write another book.

Here is a short list of “if you like this guy try this guy” suggestions for those of you in need:

Stieg Larsson? Try Henning Mankel, Jo Nesbo and Hakan Nesser.

Daniel Silva? Try Alan Furst.

Lee Child? Try John Sandford and Robert Crais.

Donna Leon? Try Michael Dibdin.

Dan Brown? Try Steve Berry and Vince Flynn.

George R. R. Martin? Try Patrick Rothfuss.

Jacqueline Winspear (Maisie Dobbs)? Try Charles Todd and Ariana Franklin.

JK Rowling? Kids try Rick Riordan; young adults try Cassandra Clare, and Maggie Stiefvater; adults try Jim Butcher (his hero is even named Harry!).

Stephenie Meyer (“Twilight Saga”)? Young adults try Cassandra Clare and Maggie Stiefvater; adults try Jim Butcher, Gail Carriger, and Glen Duncan.

Suzanne Collins (“The Hunger Games”)? Try James Dashner (“The Maze Runner”).

Garth Stein (“Art of Racing in the Rain”)? Try Spencer Quinn and Tom Franklin.

Kathryn Stockett (“The Help”)? Try “Little Bee” or “On the Corner of Bitter and Sweet” or “Cutting for Stone” or “Invisible Bridge.”

And as always, we love talking about what we have recently read and loved, so we are happy to help you find a new book to read!

August Events at the Edmonds Bookshop
Our Book Club book for Aug. 4 and 17 is “Adventures of Huckleberry Finn” by Mark Twain. “All modern American literature comes from one book by Mark Twain called Huckleberry Finn,” Ernest Hemingway wrote. “It’s the best book we’ve had.” While a complex masterpiece that has spawned volumes of scholarly exegesis and interpretative theories, it is at heart a compelling adventure story.

Third Thursday Art Walk. Aug. 18, 5-8 p.m. Our Third Thursday artists will be two local authors, both with recently published mysteries. Author Jeanne Matthews’ series stars aspiring anthropologist Dinah Pelerin, who also has a fascination with mythology. Her first book, “Bones of Contention,” is Australia, and her new book, “Bet Your Bones,” is set on the big island of Hawaii, both terrific settings to delve into local mythology! Visit her website for all kinds of additional information. Her new book also got a great mention in the June crime fiction column in the Seattle Times.

Author Bernadette Pajer will also join us. Her first novel, “A Spark of Death: A Professor Bradshaw Mystery” features a University of Washington professor. The author happily delves into Seattle’s past and the early days of electrical invention as she plots Professor Bradshaw’s investigations. Visit her website to learn more about the author and to read a sneak preview of the book. And look at this! Her book got a great mention in The Seattle Times July Crime fiction column!

Aug. 6, Saturday, noon. Local author Pam Stucky will join us to chat and sign copies of her first novel, “Letters from Wishing Rock: A Novel with Recipes.” And Mac Kenney — photographer, poet and author of “My Pictures, My Words” — will join us to chat and sign copies of his first book.

Aug. 20, Saturday, noon. Dr. David Gross will be here to talk about and sign copies of his first novel, “Animals Don’t Blush.”

Recent paperback releases:
“Red Garden” by Alice Hoffman. Lovely novels of relationships with a little bit of magic usually involved. One of my favorite authors!

“Zero History” by William Gibson. The latest from one of our favorite local authors!

“Safe Haven” by Nicholas Sparks. The bestselling author’s latest.

“Swamplandia” by Karen Russell. Chosen for IndieBound.

“Adam and Eve” by Sena Jeter Naslund. Chosen for IndieBound.

“Left Neglected” by Lisa Genova. Chosen for IndieBound.

“Moonlight Mile” by Dennis Lehane. The return of two of our favorite Boston PIs. Reviewed in IndieBound.

“The Confession: A Novel” by John Grisham.

“The Cookbook Collector” by Allegra Goodman. Chosen for IndieBound.

“The Widower’s Tale” by Julia Glass. Chosen for IndieBound.

“Work Song” by Ivan Doig!

“To Fetch a Thief: A Chet & Bernie Mystery” by Spencer Quinn. One of our favorite canines tells us his latest story.

“The Rembrandt Affair: A Gabriel Allon Novel” by Daniel Silva. Fantastic spy novel!

Recent hardcover releases:
“The Ledge: An Adventure Story of Friendship and Survival on Mount Rainier” by Jim Davidson and Kevin Vaughan. A review of this true account of mountain adventures in The Seattle Times.

“Unsaid: A Novel” by Neil Abramson. Chosen for IndieBound. Also selected by Parade Magazine as one of 12 ‘great summer books.’

“One Dog Night: An Andy Carpenter Novel” by David Rosenfelt. Our favorite dog-loving lawyer saves yet another client. And his human.

“The Silent Girl: A Rizzoli & Isles Novel” by Tess Gerritsen. Just in time for the new season of the TNT summer series.

“Forever (Wolves of Mercy Falls, Book 3)” by Maggie Stiefvater. Third in the fantastic young adult series!

“A Dance with Dragons: A Song of Ice and Fire: Book Five” by George R.R. Martin. All we can say is: FINALLY!!

“Iron House” by John Hart. The best novel Edgar Award winner’s new novel! Recommended tag in the Bookshop. Chosen for the lead review in the August IndieBound.

“The Last Werewolf” by Glen Duncan. A completely different kind of werewolf story! [which has a recommended tag on it already!] Chosen for IndieBound.

“Portrait of a Spy” by Daniel Silva. The newest Gabriel Allon novel!

“Betrayal of Trust: A J. P. Beaumont Novel” by J. A. Jance. This is the 20th in our local author’s Beaumont series!

Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante. This debut novel has been chosen for July IndieBound, and was reviewed in The Seattle Times.

Coming later in August and a sneak peak at some September highlights:

“God of the Hive” by Laurie King. The latest novel of suspense featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes. In paperback Aug. 9.

“Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer” by Siddhartha Mukherjee. The Pulitzer Prize winning book, coming in paperback. Aug. 9.

“Flash and Bones: A Temperance Brennan Novel” by Kathy Reichs. Aug. 23.

“Pirate King: A novel of suspense featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes” by Laurie R. King. Sept. 6.

“Bumble-Ardy” by Maurice Sendak. A brand new book written and illustrated by one of our favorites! Sept. 6.

“Reamde: A Novel” by Neal Stephenson. Sept. 20.

“Lost Memory of Skin: A Novel” by Russell Banks. Sept. 27.

“The Affair: A Reacher Novel” by Lee Child. Sept. 27.

“Feast Day of Fools” by James Lee Burke. Sept. 27.

As always, check our website for all the latest in book news!

Happy reading!

Edmonds native Elaine Mattson has worked at The Edmonds Bookshop off and on since she was 12 years old, and has also worked at a book wholesaler, a book publisher, and for the book publishing division of a large local software company (yes, that one). “I was raised a book lover [thanks, Mom!],” Mattson says. “We got book lights by our beds as soon as we were old enough to read. And then I probably got in trouble for reading too late the very next night. And I still read too late!”

LEAVE A REPLY