Pacific Little League’s Western Regional games to be broadcast on ESPN 3

Pacific Little League, seen here celebrating winning the Washington State championship, will be playing in the Western Regionals in August. All games will be broadcast on ESPN 3. (Photo by David Pan)

The Pacific Little League 12-year-old all-star team won the Washington State championship and advanced to the Western Regional tournament in San Bernadino, Calif., where it will compete for a spot in the Little League World Series.

Pacific won the state title by advancing through the losers bracket and beating Federal Way twice in the final games, 2-1, 12-2. Champions from 13 districts competed at the state tournament which was held in West Seattle over eight days ending with the championship final on Saturday.

It’s been 22 years since a team from Pacific won state to advance to San Bernardino to complete for the Northwest Regional title.  Pacific Little League is made up of players from Edmonds, Lynnwood and unincorporated Snohomish County. At the regional tournament state champions from Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming and Alaska will compete beginning on Aug. 1. The winner heads to South Williamsport, Penn., for the Little League World Series.

Pacific’s first game will be against Oregon. All games will be broadcast on ESPN 3. The team’s first round schedule is as follows:

  • Washington vs. Oregon
Fri 8/1 8:30 a.m. ESPN 3
  • Washington vs. Montana
Sun 8/3 8:30 a.m. ESPN 3
  • Washington vs. Idaho
Mon 8/4 7 p.m. ESPN 3
  • Washington vs. Wyoming
Tue 8/5 4:30 p.m. ESPN 3

After the first round, the top four teams advance to the semifinals on Thursday, Aug. 7 for single elimination play. The final two teams advance to the championship game on Saturday, Aug. 9 at 1 p.m.

The Pacific team is led by team manager Robley Corsi, Jr., and assistant coaches Eric Grant, Ross Kruse and Sean Durbin. Doug Sheldon is President of Pacific Little League.

The all-star team players are: Robley Corsi III, Read Carr, Tygan Duncan, Tyler Durbin, Ben Grant, Nate King, Logan Kruse, Ian Michael, Tai Starchman, Karsen Tjarneberg, Matthew Turcotte, Mason Vaughn and Colton Walsh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *