Earling re-elected to Community Transit Board of Directors

Mayor Dave Earling invites Cash Mob to descend on Saturday.
Mayor Dave Earling

Edmonds Mayor Dave Earling was re-elected to the Community Transit Board of Directors for the next two years. The board is composed of elected officials from Snohomish County and the cities and towns within the transit agency’s service district.

Earling joins four new board members — Lake Stevens Council member Kim Daughtry, Snohomish Council member Tom Hamilton, Stanwood Mayor Leonard Kelley, and Snohomish County Council member Terry Ryan. Daughtry and Hamilton served as alternate members to the board the past two years.

Other members who were re-elected to the board include Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring, Mill Creek Councilmember Mike Todd, Mountlake Terrace Mayor Jerry Smith, and Snohomish County Councilmember Stephanie Wright.

Earlier, Lance Norton was selected by the agency’s bargaining units to return as the board’s labor representative.

The new board will elect officers at its first meeting on Thursday, Feb. 6.

Three new board alternates were chosen as well: Mukilteo Council member Emily Vanderwielen, Arlington Council member Jan Schuette, and Sultan Council member Joe Neigel. Lynnwood Council member Sid Roberts and Snohomish County Council member Dave Somers each served as an alternate the past two years and were re-elected.

The Community Transit board is chosen every two years. The County Council names its two members and an alternate, and at a special meeting representatives of Community Transit’s member cities gather to select their board members and alternates. The board is comprised of two representatives from the Snohomish County Council; two representatives from large cities, with more than 30,000 residents; three representatives from medium-sized cities, with 10,000 to 30,000 residents; and two from small cities, with fewer than 10,000 residents.

Earling and Nehring represent the large cities and Roberts is the alternate. Smith, Todd and Daughtry represent the medium cities, with Vanderwielen and Schuette as alternates. Hamilton and Kelley represent the small cities and Neigel is the alternate.

Snohomish County Council member Dave Gossett, Sultan Council member Steven Slawson and Stanwood Mayor Dianne White left the Community Transit board by deciding not to run for re-election to their respective offices. After five years serving on the board, Mukilteo Mayor Joe Marine left as a result of Mukilteo’s elections last fall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.

By commenting here you agree to abide by our Code of Conduct. Please read our code at the bottom of this page before commenting.