Hydro history: Over 200 victories represented on the water this weekend

Dave Villwock
Dave V
Chip Hanauer
Chip Hanauer

A combination of drivers will be represented in Seattle at the Seafair hydroplane races this weekend, accounting for the most victories ever at one location in the history of hydroplaning.

Dave Villwock, current driver of the Beacon Plumbing, will be trying for his 68th career victory — the most all-time wins. Also on the course is Chip Hanauer, representing 61 career victories. Hanauer will be at the wheel of the Atlas Van Lines, which was driven by the late Bill Muncey, who has a second-most victories of all time at 62. Those three drivers account for 190 wins racing unlimited hydroplanes.

Bill Muncey
Bill Muncey

Muncey got his first victory in 1955 and raced until his death in 1981. Hanauer got his first victory in 1979 and last raced in 1999. Hanauer thought it fitting to retire one race short of his mentor Muncey in victories. Villwock started with his first victory in 1992, retired after 2012 and has now come back for a short stint.

— by Harry Gatjens

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *