Winners of 18th annual ‘Best Book I Ever Read’ poster contest honored at reception

2015 winners gather for group photo during the reception. (Photo courtesy Edmonds Arts Commission)
2015 winners gather for group photo during the reception. (Photo courtesy Edmonds Arts Commission)

A reception for the City of Edmonds Arts Commission’s 18th annual “Best Book I Ever Read” Poster Contest winners and their families was held on Thursday, April 16 in the Edmonds Plaza Room. The students were honored with either “Outstanding” or “Honorable Mention” certificates, and Seattle children’s book illustrator Karen Lewis (“Amazing Alaska” by Deb Vanasee, and “Arturo and The Navidad Birds” by Anne Broyles) treated everyone to a lively presentation about creating illustrations for a book.

The Best Book I Ever Read Poster Contest offers Edmonds third grade and multi-age classroom students the opportunity to create posters featuring a favorite book. The purpose of the program is to celebrate both the literary and visual arts, and the exhibit coincides with National Children’s Book Week (May 4-10). The Poster Contest is jointly sponsored by the Edmonds Arts Commission and the Friends of the Edmonds Library in cooperation with the Edmonds School District Library Media Specialists, and the Edmonds Library.

Of the 120 posters submitted, 20 were selected as “Outstanding” and another 20 were selected as “Honorable Mention” by a panel of three judges representing the program’s sponsors. Posters were adjudicated for originality, use of color, lettering, overall design and imagination used in capturing an idea or scene from a book. Participating schools this year were Chase Lake Community School, Holy Rosary School, Maplewood Parent Cooperative, Seaview Elementary, Sherwood Elementary and Westgate Elementary.

This year’s Outstanding Award Winners are: Emma Averbeck, Maplewood; Dannika Burke, Chase Lake; Ayden Burliegh, Chase Lake; Daniel Conaty, Holy Rosary; María Delgado, Westgate; Alyssa Dittoe, Sherwood; Carson Gougeon, Chase Lake; Waylisha Grey, Westgate; Reese Krieger, Maplewood; Fiona Lynch, Holy Rosary; Charolotte Miceli, Maplewood; Audrey Mitchell, Holy Rosary; Tayla Newman, Seaview; Ruby Persun, Seaview; Sonja Scarseth, Seaview; Thalia Sibaja, Chase Lake; Brenden Steenmeyer, Sherwood; Sydney Stumpf, Holy Rosary; Malia Terwilliger, Seaview; Rachel Wechsler, Sherwood.

This year’s Honorable Mention Award Winners are Vicente Bautista, Sherwood; Owen Campbell, Holy Rosary; Isabelle Day, Westgate; Sarahi Encerrado, Chase Lake; Ryan Forbush, Holy Rosary; Daniel Greene, Seaview Elementary; Jared Hardaway, Sherwood; Nathan Hoxie, Holy Rosary; Naiá Langland, Westgate; Jazz Newman, Chase Lake; Kellen O’Brien, Maplewood; Corbyn Orchard, Sherwood; Sophia Russell-Hoff, Maplewood; Gerardo Salas-Robles, Chase Lake; Miranda Sale, Holy Rosary; Samantha Sanchez-Vasquez, Sherwood; Jenna Shin, Seaview; Sophia Sisneros, Holy Rosary; Jared Smith, Holy Rosary; Travis Smith, Maplewood.

The winning posters are on display through May 14 in the Frances Anderson Center, 700 Main St., 2nd Floor Main Hall. You can find information about National Children’s Book Week here and information about illustrator Karen Lewis at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *