Reminder: Edmonds-Woodway HS to honor first set of Athletic Hall of Fame inductees Thursday

EHS logoWoodway logoewhs logo






The first set of inductees into the newly- created  EWHS Athletic Hall of Fame will be honored in a ceremony this Thursday, Oct. 15.

The Hall of Fame was created last year to recognize contributions of athletes from all three Edmonds public high schools, starting when Edmonds High School (EHS) first opened its doors in 1909, to the opening of rival Woodway High School (WHS) in 1967, to the merger of the two schools at Edmonds-Woodway (EWHS) in 1990.

The 2015 EWHS Athletic Hall of Fame inductee include:

Coaches: Tom Campbell (EHS/EWHS), Bryce Cook (WHS, EWHS), Bruce Evans (WHS/EWHS), Mike Hess (EHS/EWHS), Rich Rowe (EHS), Art Snoey (EHS/EWHS), Fred Shull (EHS), and Dale Parker (EHS/WHS).

Athletes: Karen Bryant (WHS), Deanna Carr (EHS), Mike Rankin (WHS), Karl Van Calcar (EHS)

Teams: 1949 Edmonds High School Football Team, 1984 Woodway High School Girls Basketball Team.

The EWHS Athletic Hall of Fame Ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. Thursday in the EWHS Great Hall. Those interested in attending should reserve their ticket by contacting EWHS Athletics Secretary Denise Lewis by calling 425-431-6177 or emailing

The inductees will also be recognized during halftime of this Friday’s Oct. 16 EWHS football game at Edmonds School District Stadium.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *