Edmonds Book Talk: Ideas for your summer reading list

Elaine Mattson
Elaine Mattson

Let’s go to the professionals for a wide variety of suggestions for your summer reading lists:

  • Ten new paperbacks to tote along this summer. The Mary Ann Gwinn Lit Life Column here.
  • Bill Gates’ 2016 summer reading list is here.
  • From the Washington Post: “As summer approaches, here are some of our favorite reads – from thrillers to literary fiction, memoir, science and politics.” The list here.
Mary Ann Gwinn and Bill Gates both included Seattle author Neal Stephenson’s latest novel, “Seveneves,” on their lists.
Mary Ann Gwinn and Bill Gates both included Seattle author Neal Stephenson’s latest novel, “Seveneves,” on their lists.

Don’t forget: we are open late, until 8 p.m., Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights, all summer long.

July Events at The Edmonds Bookshop:

Beginning July 1, and all month long: Waldo is lost in Edmonds. Again.
Find him in 51 shops around town, and look for his dog Woof at the Bookshop, the entire month of July for a chance to win awesome prizes. Stop in at the Bookshop for a passport and all of the details.
waldoAnd plan ahead for the Waldo Birthday Party on Sunday, July 31, from 1-2 p.m. Prizes will be awarded, there will be games, and CAKE!

 July 21, 2016. 5-8 p.m. Third Thursday Art Walk. We will welcome Rebecca Huycke Ellingson as our Third Thursday artist, with a rollicking autobiography of a 19th century ship’s captain who spent 40 years on the high seas.

forty years master
During Daniel O. Killman’s more than fifty years at sea, he was shipwrecked off Coos Bay, discovered gold in Alaska, was dismasted in a hurricane near Fiji, lost a rudder en route to Adelaide, had run-ins with bureaucrats, officials, and seamen, and found himself in court facing charges of murder, all the while remaining in impeccable standing with the owners of his vessels. His thrilling life at sea during the last decades of sailing ships and the emergence of steam vessels in the Pacific is chronicled here.

“Forty Years Master: A Life in Sail and Steam” by Daniel O. Killman and Rebecca Huycke Ellison. Published April 8, 2016.

Saturday July 23, 2016. 5-8 p.m. July Wine Walk.

We are so happy to be one of the 12 locations for the Wine Walk. Partnering with Seattle Uncorked, it will feature local Washington winemakers pouring tastes of their hand-crafted wines at some of your favorite downtown Edmonds business locations. The award-winning boutique wineries will each have a couple of options for you to taste, and buy at 10 percent off that night. In addition to great wines, look for some special tastings of gourmet chocolates too. Visit the event’s Facebook page for the list of participating businesses and winemakers.

Check our Events Page for more information and more events as schedules get finalized.

July 2016 Book Club Book.

July 7 & 20, 2016. “The Wright Brothers” by David McCullough.
The bestseller from the two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize—the dramatic story-behind-the-story about the courageous brothers who taught the world how to fly—Wilbur and Orville Wright.

In this “enjoyable, fast-paced tale” (The Economist), master historian David McCullough “shows as never before how two Ohio boys from a remarkable family taught the world to fly” (The Washington Post) and “captures the marvel of what the Wrights accomplished” (The Wall Street Journal). He draws on the extensive Wright family papers to profile not only the brothers but their sister, Katharine, without whom things might well have gone differently for them.
In this “enjoyable, fast-paced tale” (The Economist), master historian David McCullough “shows as never before how two Ohio boys from a remarkable family taught the world to fly” (The Washington Post) and “captures the marvel of what the Wrights accomplished” (The Wall Street Journal). He draws on the extensive Wright family papers to profile not only the brothers but their sister, Katharine, without whom things might well have gone differently for them.

We have chosen the books for the rest of the year. They are listed on our Book Club page.

Recent book releases of note:
“Barkskins: A Novel” by Annie Proulx. From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Shipping News, comes her masterpiece, ten years in the writing — an epic, dazzling, violent, magnificently dramatic novel about taming the wilderness and destroying the forest, set over three centuries.
“End of Watch by Stephen King. This concludes the crime trilogy that began with 2014’s “Mr. Mercedes,” which won an Edgar Award for best novel.
“Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War” by Mary Roach. The author tackles the science behind some of a soldier’s most challenging adversaries and introduces readers to the scientists tasked with keeping human beings intact, awake, and sane in the bizarre and extreme circumstances of war.
“The Girls” by Emma Cline. The obsession with 1960s California cults comes to horrifying and electrifying life in this debut novel. This coming-of-age story about how the need to be validated can go very wrong hits that sweet spot of literary fiction that’s also compulsively readable.

Books of note coming soon:

“The Japanese Lover: A Novel” by Isabel Allende. From the bestselling author comes, “a magical and sweeping” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) love story and multigenerational epic that stretches from San Francisco in the present-day to Poland and the United States during World War II. In paperback. July 5, 2016.
For teen readers “This Savage Song: Monsters of Verity, Book 1” by Victoria Schwab. There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, this is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor. July 5, 2016.
“The Girl on the Train: A Novel” by Paula Hawkins. A debut novel; really well-written unreliable narrator, staff recommended. Finally coming in paperback. July 12, 2016. And the movie is scheduled for release October 16, 2016.
“The Black Widow” by Daniel Silva. The bestselling author delivers another spellbinding international thriller—one that finds the legendary Gabriel Allon grappling with an ISIS mastermind.  July 12, 2016.

As always, check our website for all the latest in book news.

Happy reading!

— By Elaine Mattson

Edmonds native Elaine Mattson has worked at The Edmonds Bookshop off and on since she was 12 years old, and has also worked at a book wholesaler, a book publisher, and for the book publishing division of a large local software company (yes, that one). “I was raised a book lover [thanks, Mom!],” Mattson says. “We got book lights by our beds as soon as we were old enough to read. And then I probably got in trouble for reading too late the very next night. And I still read too late!”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *