Oaths of office, appointments during brief first Edmonds City Council meeting of 2018


In a meeting that lasted less than a half hour, the Edmonds City Council took care of official business Tuesday night to set the stage for its work in 2018.

Municipal Court Judge Linda Coburn administered the oath of office to the three incumbent councilmembers who were re-elected in November to serve new four-year terms: Adrienne Fraley-Monillas, Mike Nelson and Kristiana Johnson. Then Nelson, who was elected last month as the 2018 Council President, and Mayor Dave Earling announced councilmember appointments to various boards, commissions and committees. Finally, Councilmember Tom Mesaros was recognized for his “steadfast dedication” during his time as the 2017 council president.

The council had its share of conflicts in 2017, especially related to discussions about the future of the Edmonds Marsh. But Mesaros — in brief remarks after he was recognized for his year of service — noted that despite their disagreements, each councilmember has “the best interests of Edmonds in their hearts.”

During councilmembers’ remarks at the end of the meeting, Neil Tibbot said he is looking forward to serving on the council again in 2018.

“I’m very optimistic that we’ll have a great year together,” Tibbott said.

Here are the council appointments announced Tuesday night:

Kristiana Johnson
Historic Preservation Advisory Commission
Snohomish County Tomorrow
Community Transit (Alternate)

Mike Nelson
Lake Ballinger Work Group
Lodging Tax Advisory Committee
Snohomish County Emergency Radio System

Adrienne Fraley-Monillas
Diversity Commission
Snohomish Health District

Diane Buckshnis
Salmon Recovery (WRIA 8)
Tree Board
Lake Ballinger Work Group (Alternate)

Dave Teitzel
Transit Oriented Development PSRC
Affordable Housing Alliance
Snohomish County Tomorrow (Alternate)

Tom Mesaros
PFD Oversight
SeaShore Transportation Forum
Snohomish County 911

Neil Tibbott
Port of Edmonds
Economic Development

In addition, the council voted to reappoint Mayor Earling as the city’s representative to Community Transit, with Councilmember Kristiana Johnson serving as alternate. And Earling appointed Councilmembers Diane Buckshnis and Dave Teitzel to the Disability Board and Councilmember Buckshnis to the Mayor’s Climate Protection Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *