Edmonds Booktalk: Book award winners, for your reading pleasure

233
0

Book awards for the year are well under way – lots of great books to add to your reading lists!

PNBA in January announced the winners of the 2018 Pacific Northwest Book Awards:

  • “American War: A Novel” by Omar El Akkad
  • “The Book of Mistakes” by Corinna Luyken
  • “Dead Feminists: Historic Heroines in Living Color” by Chandler O’Leary and Jessica Spring
  • “Idaho: A Novel” by Emily Ruskovich
  • “Tides: The Science and Spirit of the Ocean” by Jonathan White
  • “You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir” by Sherman Alexie

More information about all of the winners and to see the long lists, and previous winners visit the PNBA website.

Also in January, Mystery Writers of America is proud to announce the Nominees for the 2018 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television published or produced in 2017.

Best Novel Nominees include:

  • “The Dime” by Kathleen Kent
  • “Prussian Blue” by Philip Kerr
  • “Bluebird, Bluebird” by Attica Locke
  • “A Rising Man” by Abir Mukherjee
  • “The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley” by Hannah Tinti

Best First Novel by an American Author nominees include:

  • “She Rides Shotgun” by Jordan Harper
  • “Dark Chapter” by Winnie M. Li
  • “Lola” by Melissa Scrivner Love
  • “Tornado Weather” by Deborah E. Kennedy
  • “Idaho” by Emily Ruskovich

The Edgar Awards will be presented April 26. For all kinds of information, and the lists of all of the nominees, visit The Edgars website.

Finalists for the National Book Critic Circle Awards for publishing year 2017 have been announced. They include: Jesmyn Ward’s “Sing, Unburied, Sing”; Mohsin Hamid’s “Exit West” for fiction; Roxane Gay’s “Hunger” for autobiography; and Masha Gessen’s “The Future is History,” winner of the National Book Award, for nonfiction.

The critics circle chose five nominees in each of six competitive categories. Winners will be announced March 15, 2018. Visit the official website for all kinds of information.

American Library Association in February announced the 2018 youth media award winners:

  • John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature: “Hello, Universe” written by Erin Entrada Kelly.
  • Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children: “Wolf in the Snow,” illustrated and written by Matthew Cordell.

Many other award and honor winners listed on the ALA web site [https://ala.unikron.com/2018/]

March Events at Edmonds Bookshop.

Saturday, March 10, 2018. Noon – 2pm. “High: Drugs, Desire, and a Nation of Users” by Dr. Ingrid Walker, asks fundamental questions about US drug policies and social norms. Why do we endorse the use of some drugs and criminalize others? Why do we accept the necessity of a doctor-prescribed opiate but not the same thing bought off the street? This divided approach shapes public policy, the justice system, research, social services, and health care. And despite the decades-old war on drugs, drug use remains relatively unchanged.

There will be a reading/talk with time for Q & A.

Dr. Ingrid Walker is an Associate Professor, American Studies   at University of Washington, Tacoma

For more information, visit the author on her website Ingridkwalker.com.

And view her fantastic TED Talk.

Third Thursday Art Walk.

Thursday, March 15, 2018. Third Thursday Art Walk. 5 – 8 p.m. “Tasman—an Innocent Convict’s Struggle for Freedom” by Paddy Eger.

We are thrilled to welcome back one of our favorite local authors!

In 1850, a 16-year-old Irish lad Ean McCloud steps off the boat, his legs in iron shackles, and steps into serving a three-year sentence at the Port Arthur Penal Colony in Tasmania. Falsely convicted, he must now survive the brutal conditions, the backbreaking labor, and time in the silent prison — a place that breaks men’s souls. Follow Ean’s adventures as he seeks not only to survive but to escape!

For all information Paddy Eger, visit her website/blog here.

Join us for the always-festive Third Thursday evening, complete with snacks and beverages!

March 2018 Book Club Book.

March 21, 2018. “Hero of the Empire: The Boer War, a Daring Escape, and the Making of Winston Churchill” by Candice Millard.

At the age of 24, Winston Churchill was utterly convinced it was his destiny to become prime minister of England. He arrived in South Africa in 1899, valet and crates of vintage wine in tow, to cover the brutal colonial war the British were fighting with Boer rebels and jumpstart his political career. But just two weeks later, Churchill was taken prisoner. Remarkably, he pulled off a daring escape—traversing hundreds of miles of enemy territory, alone, with nothing but a crumpled wad of cash, four slabs of chocolate, and his wits to guide him.

Bestselling author Candice Millard spins an epic story of bravery, savagery, and chance encounters with a cast of historical characters—including Rudyard Kipling, Lord Kitchener, and Mohandas Gandhi—with whom Churchill would later share the world stage.

Books have been chosen for the first part of 2018. Check the Bookclub page for the list of great titles.

Recent book releases of note:
“The Great Alone” by Kristin Hannah. The latest from the Northwest author: a novel about a family in crisis, barely making ends meet in 1974, moving from Seattle to the untamed wilderness of Alaska.

“Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel” by George Saunders. A moving and original father-son story featuring none other than Abraham Lincoln, as well as an unforgettable cast of supporting characters, living and dead, historical and invented. In paperback. Winner of the 2017 Man Booker Prize. Staff recommended.

“Beartown: A Novel” by Fredrik Backman. The bestselling author returns with a novel about a forgotten town fractured by scandal, and the amateur hockey team that might just change everything. In paperback.

“4 3 2 1: A Novel” by Paul Auster. A sweeping and surprising story of birthright and possibility, of love and of life itself. Staff recommended. Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. In paperback.

“Feel Free: Essays” by Zadie Smith. Arranged into five sections–In the World, In the Audience, In the Gallery, On the Bookshelf, and Feel Free–this new collection poses questions we immediately recognize. This is literary journalism at its zenith.

“White Houses: A Novel” by Amy Bloom. For readers of The Paris Wife comes a love story inspired by “one of the most intriguing relationships in history”*—between Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok.

“The Future of Humanity: Terraforming Mars, Interstellar Travel, Immortality, and Our Destiny Beyond Earth” by Michio Kaku. The bestselling author traverses the frontiers of astrophysics, artificial intelligence, and technology to offer a stunning vision of man’s future in space, from settling Mars to traveling to distant galaxies.

“Winter Sisters” by Robin Oliveira. The latest from the best-selling, Seattle-based writer, set in 1879 New York, is a rich and compelling novel about the disappearance of two young girls after a cataclysmic blizzard, and what happens when their fate is discovered.

“In This Grave Hour: A Maisie Dobbs Novel” by Jacqueline Winspear. In paperback.

“Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress” by Steven Pinker. The author presents the big picture of human progress: people are living longer, healthier, freer, and happier lives, and while our problems are formidable, the solutions lie in the Enlightenment ideal of using reason and science. Bill Gates has a new favorite book. The article here.

Books of note being released in March:

“The Heart’s Invisible Furies: A Nove”l by John Boyne. From the beloved bestselling author of “The Boy In the Striped Pajamas,” a sweeping, heartfelt saga about the course of one man’s life, beginning and ending in post-war Ireland. In paperback. March 6, 2018.

“Speak No Evil” by Uzodinma Iweala. This PW-starred second novel from the author of “Beasts of No Nation” is set in Washington, D.C., as top student Niru’s life shifts when his conservative Nigerian parents find out he’s queer. March 6, 2018.

“The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America’s Shining Women” by Kate Moore. The incredible true story of the women who fought America’s Undark danger. “…the glowing ghosts of the radium girls haunt us still.”―NPR Books In paperback. March 6, 2018.

“The Parking Lot Attendant” by Nafkote Tamirat. This debut is a coming-of-age story about a girl in Boston’s tightly knit Ethiopian community who falls under the influence of a charismatic hustler. The novel received a starred PW review. March 13, 2018.

“The Flight Attendant” by Chris Bohjalian. A powerful story about the ways an entire life can change in one night: A flight attendant wakes up in the wrong hotel, in the wrong bed, with a dead man — and no idea what happened. A spellbinding story of memory, of the giddy pleasures of alcohol and the devastating consequences of addiction, and of murder far from home. March 13, 2018.

“How to Taste: The Curious Cook’s Handbook to Seasoning and Balance, from Umami to Acid and Beyond–with Recipes” by Becky Selengut. This engaging and approachable (and humorous!) guide to taste and flavor will make you a more skilled and confident home cook. March 13, 2018.

“The Sparsholt Affair” by Alan Hollinghurst. The Man Booker Prize-winning author of “The Line of Beauty“ returns with a novel beginning during the second World War and ending in 2012; it is, as The Guardian wrote in a rapturous review upon its British release, “about gay life, about art, about family, but most of all it’s about the remorseless passage of time.” March 20, 2018.

“The Italian Teacher” by Tom Rachman. Rachman’s best-selling “The Imperfectionists” took place in the world of journalism; his new book explores the world of art, focusing on a world-famous painter and his struggling-artist son. March 20, 2018.

“To Die but Once: A Maisie Dobbs Novel” by Jacqueline Winspear. Maisie Dobbs faces danger and intrigue on the home front during World War II. She investigates the disappearance of a young apprentice working on a hush-hush government contract. As news of the plight of thousands of soldiers stranded on the beaches of France is gradually revealed to the general public, and the threat of invasion rises, another young man beloved by Maisie makes a terrible decision that will change his life forever. March 27, 2018.

As always, check our website for all the latest in book news.

Happy reading!

By Elaine Mattson

Edmonds native Elaine Mattson has worked at The Edmonds Bookshop off and on since she was 12 years old, and has also worked at a book wholesaler, a book publisher, and for the book publishing division of a large local software company (yes, that one). “I was raised a book lover [thanks, Mom!],” Mattson says. “We got book lights by our beds as soon as we were old enough to read. And then I probably got in trouble for reading too late the very next night. And I still read too late!”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *