Last opportunity to testify on county council districts at Nov. 10 Snohomish County Districting Committee meeting

An overview map of the updated Snohomish County Council districts that were submitted.

The Snohomish County Districting Committee will hold a final special public hearing on Wednesday, Nov. 10 to take testimony on changes to county council district lines. Every 10 years, boundaries of county council districts are updated based on new census numbers to reflect how populations have changed. Members of the public can attend to learn more about the proposed district changes and submit in-person or live public testimony. The independent County Districting Committee is scheduled to adopt or amend proposed changes on Nov. 17.

The proposed changes to the county council districts extend County Council District 2 south into County Council District 4, west of Mill Creek and north of 164th. In addition, a small of portion of County Council District 4 south of I-405 and bounded by Damson Road, S. Danvers Road and 203 Place Southwest is moved to County Council District 3. The changes would result in a maximum population deviation between districts of 1.5%. You can read more in our earlier story here.

Public comment about these changes can be sent via email to or by mail to Districting Committee, c/o Snohomish County Council, 3000 Rockefeller, Ave., M/S 609, Everett, WA 98201. Or you can provide in-person or remote public comment at the public hearing:

What: Snohomish County Districting Committee Special Meeting – Public Hearing
When: 6 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 10
Where: Snohomish City Council Chambers
Robert J. Drewel Building
Eighth Floor
3000 Rockefeller Ave.Everett, WA 98201
Virtual option: Zoom link
Other details: View map online for location of the Drewel Bldg. and available parking

You can view recordings of previous meetings on Council’s meeting webpage by going to the “Miscellaneous” tab under the 2021 Archives.

If you need this information translated, contact Si necesita que esta información sea traducida, comuníquese con por favor

About redistricting
Under state law, the council districts created based on the 2020 Census data shall:

  • Be nearly equal in population
  • Be as compact as possible
  • Consist of geographically contiguous area
  • Not use population data to favor or disfavor any racial group or political party
  • Be drawn so that boundaries coincide with existing recognized natural boundaries
  • Preserve existing communities of related and mutual interest

The Districting Committee consists of five voting members. Four voting members, two from each major political party, were appointed by the Snohomish County Council and the fifth member was appointed by the committee to serve as chair. The chair of the redistricting committee is Kurt Hilt. The Democrat members of the redistricting committee are Hillary Moralez and Bill Phillips. The Republican members of the redistricting committee are Jim Langston and Sid Roberts.

For more information about Snohomish County’s redistricting process, public meetings, committee meetings and more, visit



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Real first and last names — as well as city of residence — are required for all commenters.
This is so we can verify your identity before approving your comment.

By commenting here you agree to abide by our Code of Conduct. Please read our code at the bottom of this page before commenting.